Milestones for Women at the United Nations

  • Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) 1946
  • Division for the Advancement of Women Established in 1946
  • The UN Decade for Women: Equality, Development, and Peace 1975-1985
  • UN Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM) 1976
  • International Research and Training Institute for the Advancement of Women 1976
  • Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women Adopted in 1979
  • Declaration on the Elimination of All Forms of Violence against Women 1993
  • Adoption of Optional Protocol to CEDAW 1999
  • Security Council Resolution 1325 on Women, Peace, and Security 2000
  • Gender Equality Architecture Reform (GEAR) 2009
  • SCR 1820, 1888 and 1889 on Women, Peace and Security, Sexual Violence in Situations of Armed Conflict 2009
  • The United Nations World Conferences on Women:
  • 1st World Conference in Mexico City-World Plan of Action 1975
  • 2nd World Conference in Copenhagen 1980
  • 3rd World Conference in Nairobi 1985
  • 4th World Conference in Beijing-Platform for Action (BPFA) 1995

Alice Dahle, UN Blogger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s